Visit    NADA Press Room  PRESS ROOM     NADA DATA   NADA DATA     News   NEWS     NADA Videos   VIDEOS     NADA Membership   MEMBERSHIP



Phil Schmidt State/Metro Winners 

Phil Schmidt


ORLANDO, Fla., Feb. 13, 2010 – Phil Schmidt, President/General Manager of Greiner/Schmidt Motor Co., Inc., which does business as Greiner Ford Lincoln Mercury, a Ford, Lincoln and Mercury dealership in Casper, Wyo., was named the TIME Magazine Dealer of the Year from Wyoming.


Schmidt was chosen to represent the Wyoming Automobile Dealers Association in the national competition. The award is sponsored by TIME Magazine in association with Goodyear, and in cooperation with NADA.


“At nine years old, I started working in a family owned Shakey's Pizza Parlor,” says Schmidt, “I held down a couple of other jobs while working my way through college.”


Schmidt graduated from Rapid City (SD) Central High School in 1978, and then earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Business, with an emphasis on Accounting, at Black Hills State University in Spearfish, SD, in 1982. “After graduation, I went into public accounting to bolster my business acumen,” Schmidt says, “and after six years, I was offered the opportunity to be a partner in the CPA firm I was working for that also had two dealership clients who had talked to me about joining their organizations.”


The dealership where Schmidt is now majority owner was a client that, he says, “was distressed and I felt I had a huge opportunity for a turnaround, so I accepted the controller position and was in charge of parts, service and the body shop [of what was then Greiner Motor and Marine].” Within six months, Schmidt was General Manager. But, he says, “even though I had been the company’s CPA, things were more challenging than I had anticipated—so much for bolstering my business acumen by being in public accounting!” 


 Read the press release 

ALABAMA - G. Wayne Gargus
ARKANSAS - Scott Wood
CALIFORNIA - Henry Hansel
   San Diego County - John Ball
COLORADO - Jack TerHar
DELAWARE - Larry Giacchino
FLORIDA - Larry C. Morgan
GEORGIA - Pat Hoban
HAWAII - Ronald Hansen
IDAHO - Kim Hansen
ILLINOIS - Phillip H. Resnick
IOWA - Paul Stueland
KANSAS - Jeff Longbine
KENTUCKY - Joe Goodman III
LOUISIANA - Mike Harper
MAINE - John Emerson
MARYLAND - Andrew Dixon
MICHIGAN - Thomas Thelen
   Detroit - Frank Audette
MINNESOTA - Lee Carlson
MISSISSIPPI - Homer Skelton
MISSOURI - Steven Reuther
MONTANA - E.G. Leipheimer IV
NEBRASKA - Gary Schultz
NEW HAMPSHIRE - Richard Lovering
NEW MEXICO - Eddie Corley Jr.
   Greater New York - Juliana Terian Gilbert
   Niagara Frontier - Paul Mullane
NORTH DAKOTA - Kathleen Gaddie
   Greater Cleveland - Kirt Frye
OREGON - Greg Rasmussen
PENNSYLVANIA - John Giambalvo
RHODE ISLAND - Robert Tasca Jr.
SOUTH DAKOTA - John Deniger
TENNESSEE - C. Edward Roberts
TEXAS - Mark Daniels
UTAH - Michael R. Hale
VIRGINIA - Jack Taylor
WISCONSIN - Ronald Boldt
WYOMING - Phil Schmidt 



2011 TIME Dealer of the Year


The 2011 awards will be presented at the opening session of NADA's annual convention in San Francisco on Feb. 5, 2011. For details, visit: